FACT SHEET No 204a This is an addendum to FS204 giving reference to John Toy's talk to the Stewards Meeting 5th July 2014 [added separately given the difficulty of amending pdfs]

The Prebendal Houses & their relationship to the Minster

We started with a list of the prebends as they are today, laid out in the positioning of the stalls in the Quire with the west to the top of the page. Light print indicates that the person sitting in that stall is not a member of the College of Canons. The arrangement of the seating plan is that the south side of the quire is the most important side of the church. Thus the Stall with Episcopus (Bishop) on it is to the south and that with Dean (formerly Provost) to the north of the central aisle. The Act of 1999 altered everything to do with the Minster's governance - changed the Provost to Dean and created a new Chapter with some lay members, and for the most part stripped the members of the College of Canons of their powers. The names of prebends that are repeated indicate prebends that were subdivided and supported more than one Prebendary, (e.g. Norwell Palishall, Norwell Overhall and Norwell III). After the 1999 Act seven new lay Canons were created to serve on the Chapter and the names of former abbeys or priories of medieval foundation were used (Kelham is slightly different in that it was a later foundation and not strictly an abbey or priory).

In the medieval period the Archbishop of York allotted parts of his arch diocese to various prebends. The clergy who occupied these prebends were known as Prebendaries and were usually members of the College of Canons. They would often appoint a priest to act on their behalf in the cure of souls within the Prebend --- a vicar from the Latin *vicarious* meaning deputy and sometimes also a vicar choral to deputize in the Collegiate Church and sing the services - a vicar choral. At the Minster the Vicars Choral lived in a house on the site were Vicar's Court now stands. The Prebendaries each built himself a Prebendal House in Southwell. A number are still identifiable but the location of others is not known.

The Anglo-Saxon Archdiocese of York had three main Collegiate churches which acted as sub-cathedrals; Ripon and Beverley in the north plus Southwell in the South. Beverley had seven canons plus a further two added after the Norman Conquest, Ripon had seven canons and Southwell seven plus two more after the Norman Conquest. Whereas the Colleges at Beverley and Ripon did not grow thereafter the College at Southwell did in the 12 & 13th centuries a further six Canons were added making sixteen in all. At Beverley there was also a Precentor, Chancellor and Sacrist who were not members of the College of Canons. (I'm not absolutely clear where this was the case at Southwell and Ripon too.)

We were shown maps - one of the extent of the York diocese which more or less covered the whole of northern England with Nottinghamshire appended at the bottom edge, and another which showed the distribution of the prebends themselves. [It should be possible using a modem map to work out where they all were.]

A Prebendal House would have consisted of a courtyard and the house with living quarters. At the Reformation the Southwell College was dissolved in 1547 and reinstated in 1557 (16 canons) and then reaffirmed by James I in 1604.

In 1840 all the Prebends in the country were abolished by Act of Parliament and their monies redistributed more evenly. In 1884 the Minster became the cathedral for Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire and a new college of Canons was formed using the old names and expanded to twenty-four to accommodate the Derbyshire parishes.

This number reverted to sixteen when the church in Derby became the cathedral for Derbyshire in 1927.

Canon Toy then went on to talk about Cathedrals. Those of the Old Foundation which have always been cathedrals from Anglo-Saxon times and those which were made into abbeys or monasteries by the Normans then reinstated as Cathedrals after the Reformation and are referred to as New Foundation because they had to have new constitutions. Then there are those churches which became Cathedrals from the mid- nineteenth century onward starting with Ripon (1836) and Manchester (1848) and including Southwell Minster (1884); Birmingham (1906) and Derby (1927) etal.