## List of the Bishops of the Diocese of Southwell (1884 to 2004) & The Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham (2005 to present)

Incumbent	Tenure	Notes
George Ridding	1884 to 1904	Formerly Headmaster of Winchester College
Sir Edwyn Hoskyns	1904 to 1925	12 <sup>th</sup> Baronet Born 22 May 1851 Aston Tirrold, Berkshire Died 1925
Bernard Oliver Francis Heywood	1926 to 1928	Resigned due to ill health. Appointed Suffragan Bishop of Hull 1931
Henry Mosley	1928 to 1941	Formerly Bishop of Stepney. Died 20 <sup>th</sup> January 1948 at Standen Hannington, nr. Basingstoke, Hampshire
Frank Russell Barry, DSO. DD	1941 to 1964	Born 1890. Died 1976
Gordon David Savage, MA	1964 to 1970	Formerly Suffragan Bishop of Buckingham
John Denis Wakeling	1970 to 1985	Born 12 December 1918 Died 10 October 2004
Michael Humphrey Dickens Whinney	1985 to 1988	Formerly Bishop of Aston
Patrick Burnet Harris	1988 to 1999	
George Henry Cassidy	1999 to 2009	Enthroned 11 September 1999 Retired August 2009
Paul Roger Butler	2010 to 2013	Enthroned 27 February 2010. Appointed Bishop of Durham 2013
Paul Williams	2015	Enthroned 27 <sup>th</sup> June 2015. Formerly Area Bishop in the Diocese of London

## Rectors, Provosts & Deans

Rectors of Southwell			
James John Trebeck	1881		
John Gray Richardson	1900	and Archdeacon of Nottingham	
Herbert Louis Wild	1913	and Archdeacon of Nottingham	
William James Conybeare	1916	and Archdeacon of Nottingham	
Provosts and Rectors			
William James Conybeare	1931		
Hugh Christopher Lampiêre Heywood	1945		
John Francis Isaac Pratt	1970		
John Murray Irvine	1978		
David Leaning	1991		
Deans and Rectors			
David Leaning	2000		
John Arthur Guille	2007		
Nicola Sullivan	2016	To be installed in the autumn of 2016	

Diana Pitchford April 2016